Honourable Idimogu, the Igbo lawmaker in Lagos, says he had to secure his political future by jumping ship

By Simon Ateba/Lagos

Six Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lawmakers in the Lagos state House of Assembly have defected to the All Progressives Congress, they said on Thursday, in what may represent a major betrayal of those who elected them during the bitter election of 2015. On Friday, one of them, Honourable Jude Idimogu, an Igbo lawmaker representing Oshodi-Isolo Constituency 2 at the Lagos state House of Assembly, said he had to secure his political future by moving to the ruling party.

“I had to look at my own future,” he told anchor Yori Folarin on “THIS MORNING” flagship programme on Television Continental.

Honourable Idimogu said in addition, in-fighting in the PDP did not help. He said he would also be able to better fight for his constituency in the ruling party rather than in the opposition party.

Honourable Segun Olulade, an APC member representing Epe Constituency 2 at the Lagos House of Assembly, who appeared on the early morning show with Honourable Idimogu said the PDP members had to leave “a sinking ship”.

Segun Olulade

There are now 38 APC members and two PDP members in the 40-member Lagos state House of Assembly.

Honourable Olulade said the two PDP members remaining would soon jump ship also. He said he had seen some “progressives tendencies in them”.

Their appearance on TVC laid bare what many had said in Lagos and Nigerian politics that there is virtually no party ideology.

On Thursday, the lawmakers, who were elected on the platform of the PDP in 2015, announced their defection during the House’s Yoruba plenary. Five of them had written a letter to the House, which was read by the Speaker,  Honourable Mudashiru Ajayi Obasato announce their defection.

Shortly after the letter was read, the Speaker called on the defecting lawmakers to officially rise to announce their defection.

TVC reported that the lawmakers who gladly announced their defection noted that the division in the Peoples Democratic Party, both at the National and state levels informed their decision.

They said the successes recorded by the All Progressives Congress under the leadership of Governor Akinwunmi Ambode spurred their actions.

As is the tradition of the house, the Speaker ruled that the other 35 members of the House rise to honour the defecting lawmakers who were asked to remain on their seats.

But the story changed, TVC said, when the Minority Leader of the house rose to also announce his defection.

Together, the lawmakers swore their allegiance to serve the people of Lagos on the platform of the All Progressives Congress.

The six members that defected were, the minority leader of the house, Hon. Akeem Bello, Amuwo-Odofin 11, Hon. Mosunmola Sangodara, Surulere 11, Hon Adedayo Famakinwa – Ajeromi Ifelodun I, Hon. Oluwa Fatai Ajeromi Ifelodun II, Hon. Sokunle Olusola Oshodi Isolo I, Hon Idimogu Jude -Oshodi/Isolo I.

Leave a Reply